Stand

(I haven’t written here in a long time, but today is the day, and this goes out to my mom, I miss you)

It seems one of our first major accomplishments in life is to be able to stand.  Parents devote countless hours in helping us be able to do so, as well as placing them on standby with their cameras on the ready to capture the moment when we finally let go of their hands, or whatever we’re holding onto, and stand.  I wish I could tell you about the first time I stood on my own, but I can’t, I don’t remember the details when my mom told me and I can’t ask her. 

Yes, after this stage, there are countless first accomplishments we have left, but “standing,” it seems, is the most important act in our lives that we will have ever had to learn.  Yes, walking is important too, but we can’t do that, unless we first learn to stand. 

First, we weren’t only created to stand upright, as in a vertical position, but we were also created to stand as upright, moral beings.  From the moment we’re brought into this world, we’re taught morals and values, through parents, family, teachers, and some of society what it takes to be upright people in the eyes of God and others. 

As we grow up, we become aware of adversity in the world, and what people are capable of doing and saying to others, and to us, that can hurt us.  We are taught, in these cases, how to stand up for ourselves.  We are also tested with learning how to stand up for other people as well.

We learn throughout our life and our experiences what is important to us, and we learn that at times these things get threatened, such as our comforts, our jobs, our decisions, our families, our lives, our country, our God.  In times like this, we learn how to stand our ground, and we also learn how to stand beside each other to achieve our goals.

There are also many times we come across stumbling blocks in our journey, we fail, and we fall.  Sometimes we take so many hits it seems impossible to get back up again.  It is in these times, when it seems when we are most alone, that we must learn how to stand alone. 

At the moment, I feel like I’m back at the beginning stages again.  I think I’ve missed some stages along the way, and while I learned to walk, I haven’t learned to “stand” all the way along the way.  So while I have all this time to sit and ponder, the result of a broken ankle, divine intervention, if you ask me, I believe I should learn to stand. 

I’ve been hobbling around on a walker like a baby, and being rolled around in a stroller the same way for the past few weeks.  In a few weeks, I’m going to have to learn to stand on my own two feet, and while that’s spoken literally, the fact of the matter is, since I lost my mom in December, I’ve been having to stand on my own two feet. 

I’ve never had to before and I haven’t been doing a very good job.  Now I have no choice but to learn.  At the end of this physical and emotional journey of healing and mourning, I believe I will stand taller.  If nothing else, be able to stand again. 

Ephesians 6:13

“Therefore, put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, after you have done everything, to stand.”

2 thoughts on “Stand

  1. Your a child of God and your strengths are beyond what you may believe. Jesus suffered a horrible death to set us free and love us beyond comprehension. The mind is a powerful thing when we think of sucking on a lemon we actually begin to salivate. We have a journey to take each one of us it is like peeling an onion we have no idea what lies ahead but know that Jesus Christ is always going to be there to love us unconditionally and expects us all to use these experiences to growth in faith, to surrender to god all that we cannot control, to make us compassionate, forgiving, and wise. The road is shorter than we think so it is vital to take in all that life has to offer us and stand in faith that you have a supreme guide.

Leave a Reply

